Australasian Language Technology Association
 

Mentoring at ALTA

What is Mentoring?

Mentoring is generally considered to be a voluntary relationship that gives people the opportunity to share their skills, knowledge and experiences, both personal and professional.

Three Key Benefits for the Mentor

  • Improve interpersonal skills in counselling, listening, modelling, and leading
  • Access to new perspectives, information, and knowledge
  • Enhance professional relationships and networks

Three Key Benefits for the Mentee

  • Receive valuable feedback from an experienced subject-matter expert
  • Have opportunities to develop networks with experienced and positive role models
  • Have a supportive envirnonment in which successes and failurtes can be evaluated in a non-confrontational manner and new ideas can be tested

How does it work?

To initiate a mentoring session, a mentee should proactively organise a meeting with an ALTA mentor in advance during or after the ALTA workshop.

Step 1: Choose a mentor from the ALTA mentor list.

Step 2: Contact him/her via an email

Step 3: Organise a mentoring session either virtually (e.g., Zoom, Kumospace or Slack) or in person.

Boundaries of the mentor relationship

Professional and ethical behaviour is expected at all times in a mentor relationship. A mentor and a mentee should treat the relationship with respect and maintain privacy/confidentiality of conversations. It is important that the mentee makes his/her own decisions and is responsible for his/her own actions.

ALTA Mentors

Name Affiliation Position Email Taking Mentees?*
Afshin Rahimi University of Queensland Lecturer a.rahimi@uq.edu.au Yes
Bahar Salehi Go1 Senior Data Scientist bahar.salehi@go1.com Yes
Borhan Kazimipour Australian Taxation Office Director of Data Science Borhan.Kazimipour@ato.gov.au Yes
Daniel Beck University of Melbourne Lecturer d.beck@unimelb.edu.au Yes
David Powers Flinders University Professor david.powers@flinders.edu.au Yes
Diego Molla Macquarie University Senior Lecturer diego.molla-aliod@mq.edu.au Yes
Gabriela Ferraro CSIRO Data61 Researcher gabriela.ferraro@data61.csiro.au Yes
Jennifer Biggs Defence Science and Technology Group Defence Scientist jennifer.biggs@dst.defence.gov.au Yes
Jey Han Lau University of Melbourne Lecturer jeyhan.lau@gmail.com Yes
Maria Kim Defence Science and Technology Group Defence Scientist maria.kim@dst.defence.gov.au Yes
Massimo Piccardi University of Technology Sydney Professor massimo.piccardi@uts.edu.au Yes
Meladel Mistica University of Melbourne Research Data Specialist misticam@unimelb.edu.au Yes
Paulo E. Santos Flinders University Associate Professor paulo.santos@flinders.edu.au Yes
Richard Leibbrandt Flinders University Lecturer richard.leibbrandt@flinders.edu.au Yes
Sarvnaz Karimi CSIRO Principal Scientist sarvnaz.karimi@csiro.au Yes
Shunichi Ishihara Australian National University Associate Professor shunichiishihara@anu.edu.au Yes
Stephen Wan CSIRO Senior Scientist stephen.wan@data61.csiro.au Yes
Timothy Baldwin University of Melbourne Professor tb@ldwin.net Yes
Xiuzhen Zhang Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology Professor xiuzhen.zhang@rmit.edu.au Yes

*Mentors: When you are no longer accepting mentees, send an email to exec@alta.asn.au to have your status updated.

For any comments or questions about these pages please contact the ALTA secretary.


Copyright 2003-2019 ALTA. Last updated: 02 Dec 2022