ALTA logo Australasian Language Technology Workshop 2005
Call for Papers
Submission and Review system
Getting there
Information for Presenters

Getting there

The ALTA 2005 Workshop and Tutorials will all be held in the Madsen Building (F09), which is the current home of the School of Information Technologies, University of Sydney. There is more information about SIT available here.

The Madsen Building is the first building on your left as you come into the university through the City Road entrance. Madsen building has some interesting history too, originally housing the CSIRO's National Measurement Laboratory, which build Australia's first computer, CSIRAC.

There is a large online map available here. The Madsen Building is located at L17 and Women's College is located at P11 on this map. It is a very pleasant 10 minute walk through the university (along Physics Road) to get between Madsen and Women's College.

Since parking space is very limited, I recommend public transport for attendees in the Sydney area. The closest train station is Redfern but it is not recommended you walk to Redfern in the evening. Sydney University runs a security bus to and from Redfern station quite frequently. See here.

The other option is Central station and then catching a bus (or a 15-20 minute walk) to Sydney University. The buses leave from Railway square and any bus numbered 42X will head towards Sydney University along City Road. The City Road entrance is just after a footbridge which crosses City Road. Many of the other 4XX buses travel past Sydney university, but not on the City Road side.

The STA has a travel route map for getting to the University, available from here.

There is some on campus parking but it is heavily over subscribed so it will be hard to find a space during the tutorials on Friday. The weekend is not so problematic. The cost of parking is $6 a day on weekends. More information is available here.

For any comments or questions about these pages please contact the ALTA Workshop 2005 organisers.
Timothy Baldwin (University of Melbourne -- co-chair)
James Curran (University of Sydney -- local organiser)
Menno van Zaanen (Macquarie University -- co-chair)

Copyright 2003 ALTA. Last updated: Wed Nov 30 12:13:05 EST 2005